I’m so competitive!!!

This week I visited the Scottish Sun office in Glasgow. My third experience of being in a newsroom. I had previously been at the Turriff Advertiser for a work placement in summer 2014 and at the Press and Journal for my first ever job interview which I sadly didn’t get.

My college class and I found it very interesting. We got to speak to the Editor, Alan Muir and his editorial team. They gave us some gold nuggets about how to get into the industry and highlighted how it’s exciting times in journalism with the digital revolution.

 We got a tour of the newsroom and were shown how quickly breaking news gets written up on their website which was staggering to watch. The environment in the office was relaxing which was surprising as it was the day of the American Presidency Election.

The major rivalry between the Scottish Sun and the Daily Record was clearly on show. This has been on the go since the Sun grabbed the exclusive of footballer Mo Johnson becoming the first catholic player to join Rangers from bitter competitor Celtic in July 1989.

I have always been overly competitive at everything from board games to sports. So when I’m on a football pitch and against one of my friends they turn into my enemy. I do anything within my power to win. Sometimes it’s not pretty, but I always go into it to win it. I relish competing with others for a story. Sometimes it’s my downfall as it can ruin family gatherings or cause arguments with friends.

However, I feel that being competitive and having that inner hunger is healthy at times. If I didn’t have the hunger to write articles, get exclusives before others and especially creating this blog. As well as competing with other blogs and journalists to get the killer quote. I wouldn’t be nowhere near where I am. Being competitive is part of who I am. If I ever lose the hunger for a story or my competitiveness, I will stop pursuing this career. Sorry for the lack of posting, I promise I will write an article every week.

 

Link to article on Student Record: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/science-technology/student-record-meet-travelling-american-9072623

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SeanMcAngusJournalist/

 

Leave a Reply

