Lego Creator commissioned to build small Glasgow University

A model maker is being commissioned to build a small replica of Glasgow University cloisters out of Lego for a graduation present.

Denis Donoghue known on social media as Bricking It Glasgow has built a variety of the city’s buildings from Barrowland to the iconic Duke of Wellington statue. Lego is everlasting with it continuing to be popular through every generation.

He said: “I’m not building all of it. Just a wee commission that I’ve had from somebody to do a little framed one for a graduation present.  I’ve almost done a kind of basic version. I just need to get an original picture of the cloisters to put on it.”

15337631_1376163612417566_6376748215811786440_n

Donoghue was inspired to start making buildings of the city out of Lego when he visited Brick City an exhibition by professional Lego artist Wayne Elsmore at Paisley’s Museum in 2013.

He said: “I wonder if anyone done any of Glasgow’s buildings. So then I got googling and then I realized that there wasn’t really.

I couldn’t really find any pictures of any Glasgow buildings. Oh, I’ll maybe give one a try. I said that I’d try to do the Barrowlands ’cause I  like the building and I thought it would be quite easy. So, I just thought I’d start doing it.”

He feels his degree in town planning has played a small role in helping he be able to craft these models.

“I did a degree when I was younger so it’s part of that.

I did kind of draw frontages of buildings and helped friends of mine who are architects to make models of buildings out of cardboard and stuff.”

Out of all the buildings he has made so far, Barrowland is his favourite.

He said: “I guess my favorite is probably still the Barrowlands because it’s a really interesting building and it’s kind of iconic I suppose. It’s got a lot of good memories for me in terms of gigs and stuff.”

Looking ahead to the future, Donoghue has plenty of buildings he wants to build and been flooded with suggestions from people.

He said: “I’ve got quite a long list and you’ve suggest some things as well so I suppose I’d quite like to at some point have a go at the Glasgow School of Art frontage”

Check him out on social media:

https://www.facebook.com/brickingitGlasgow/

https://twitter.com/brickingglasgow

Make sure your following me on other social media:

https://www.facebook.com/SeanMcAngusJournalist/ 

https://twitter.com/Seanmcangus

Instagram: @seanmcangus

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

